Search Transit Toronto

Powered by GOOGLE.

Buses replace subway between Eglinton and Bloor Stations,
October 29 and 30



The TTC is not operating subway trains along the 1 Yonge - University - Spadina subway between Eglinton and Bloor Stations all day Saturday, October 29 and Sunday, October 30.

Trains operate along the line only between Finch and Eglinton Stations and between Downsview and Bloor Stations this weekend.

Frequent, accessible buses drop off and pick up passengers inside Eglinton Station bus terminal and at stops on Yonge Street beside Davisville, St. Clair, Summerhill, Rosedale and Bloor Stations. The buses operate every two to three minutes.

Passengers traveling between northwest and downtown Toronto should consider riding the University - Spadina branch of the line. Board and exit the subway at Downsview, Wilson, Lawrence West, Eglinton West and St. Clair West Stations.

Passengers traveling between northeast and downtown Toronto should also consider riding the University - Spadina branch. Ride buses and streetcars between Sheppard - Yonge and Downsview Stations, between York Mills and Wilson Stations, between Lawrence and Lawrence West Stations, between Eglinton and Eglinton West Stations and between St. Clair and St. Clair West Stations, instead of using the Yonge branch of the line.

While the subway is closed, TTC crews are installing a new crossover south of St. Clair Station under Rosehill Avenue. The crossover allows trains to move from one track to another, letting the TTC short-turn trains during an emergency further along the line.

The TTC previously closed the subway between Eglinton and Bloor Station for the same cross-over project Saturday, August 13 and Sunday, August 14 and Saturday, September 17 and Sunday, September 18.

The TTC also recently installed a crossover south of College Station (roughly beneath the intersection of Yonge and Gerrard Streets), closing the subway during the weekends of Saturday, January 29 and Sunday, January 30, Saturday, February 26 and Sunday, February 27 and Saturday, March 26 and Sunday, March 27.

It plans to also install another crossover south of King Station over the next year. The TTC removed all three of these manually operated crossovers many years ago to eliminate maintenance requirements, but now it’s re-installing and automating them so that emergency shutdowns affect a shorter part of the line when they occur.

Regular subway service resumes Monday, October 31.