Search Transit Toronto

Powered by GOOGLE.

TTC subway trains bypass Union Station,
May 2, 3



Union Bypass.jpg

Although the TTC has opened a second platform at Union subway station, work still continues on the project.

This Saturday, May 2 and Sunday, May 3, trains operating along the 1 Yonge - University subway line will by-pass Union Station, while crews continue working on the second platform.

You can still board TTC streetcars operating along the 509 Harbourfront route in Union Station.

Regular subway service resumes Monday, May 4.


While closing the subway is a short-term inconvenience to passengers, the result of the project will be better service for the thousands of passengers that board or exit from the subway at Toronto’s major transit hub, Union Station. (Many of you also connect with GO Transit trains and buses at Union.)

This is the latest in this series of weekend closures to disrupt service in the same stretch of the 1 Yonge - University - Spadina subway as the TTC worked towards opening the second platform and finalizing the project. This year, it has already closed this part of the subway Saturday, January 10 and Sunday, January 11, Saturday, January 31 and Sunday, February 1 and Saturday, February 14, Sunday, February 15 and Family Day, Monday, February 16, Saturday, February 28 and Sunday, March 1, Sunday, March 15, Saturday, March 28 and Sunday, March 29 and Saturday, April 11 and Sunday, April 12.

Last year, it closed this part of the line Saturday, January 11 and Sunday, January 12, Saturday, January 25 and Sunday, January 26, Saturday, February 8 and Sunday, February 9 and Saturday, February 22 and Sunday, February 23. More recently, it closed this section of the line Saturday, August 16 and Sunday, August 17, just before opening the new platform and then again, Saturday, September 13 and Sunday, September 14 and Saturday, September 20 and Sunday, September 21.

During earlier parts of the project, it also previously closed the subway between St. Andrew and Union Saturday, September 8 and Sunday, September 9, Saturday, November 10 and Sunday, November 11, Saturday, December 8 and Sunday, December 9, 2012, Saturday, January 26 and Sunday, January 27, Saturday, November 23 and Sunday, November 23 and Saturday, December 7 and Sunday, December 8, 2013.

Support us on Patreon Button

Welcome to Transit Toronto! This is an information site dedicated to public transportation in Toronto, maintained by transit enthusiasts for transit enthuasiasts. This is NOT the official website of the Toronto Transit Commission, Metrolinx or any other transit provider or government agency. To access the official websites of these agencies, consult this page here.