Search Transit Toronto

New citizen members, new vice-chair
for the Toronto Transit Commission

At its meeting yesterday, Wednesday, May 27, the Toronto Transit Commission formally welcomed four citizen members — two new and two returning. Maureen Adamson and Alan Heisey return for a second term, with new members Rick Byers and Ron Lalonde joining them. The board elected Alan Heisey as vice-chair.

  • Maureen Adamson is the president and chief executive officer of the Michener Institutefor Applied Health Sciences. She has 25 years experience in the not-for-profit sector, where she has developed provincial policy and implemented policies and “best practices” in hospitals, applied health science education and charities.

  • Rick Byers has a bachelor of commerce from the University of Toronto and an masters of business administration from the University of Ottawa. He has 28 years experience in the accounting, finance and infrastructure industries. He has also served on a number of volunteer and other boards and is “a strong believer in well-run public agencies”.

  • Alan Heisey is a lawyer who has practiced law for more than 30 years. He has previously been a member of the Toronto Police Services Board and the Toronto Parking Authority. Recently, he has advocated for a connected network of separated and protected bike lanes in downtown Toronto.

  • Ron Lalonde retired from the Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce in 2010, where he was a member of the executive team. During his career, he worked in virtually all of CIBC’s support functions, including finance and technology. He has a bachelor of arts and masters of business administration from the University of Western Ontario and has served on several private and non-profit boards.

The commission is the TTC’s board of directors. It oversees matters of policy and planning, building, maintaining and operating the TTC system and expanding its services and facilities.

Commissioners include City of Toronto councillors and members of the public.