Search Transit Toronto

TTC subway operators reducing speed through sections of the subway system: March 1 Update.

Updating our earlier posts of Thursday, January 18, Monday, February 5, Monday, February 12, Thursday, February 15 and Thursday, February 22.

TTC transit control continues to ask subway operators to reduce their speed through certain areas of the subway system as a safety precaution due to crews at track level performing ongoing maintenance on the tracks. These reduced speed zones mean that trains travel more slowly than normally in the area.

Here’s where reduced speed zones are in effect on Lines 1 and 2:

  • Line 1 Yonge - University
  • Southbound between Lawrence West and Glencairn stations;
  • Southbound between St Andrew and Union stations;
  • Southbound between Davisville and St Clair stations;
  • Northbound between Union and King stations;
  • Northbound between Bloor and Rosedale stations;
  • Northbound between Summerhill and Davisville stations; and
  • Northbound between York Mills and Sheppard - Yonge stations.
  • Line 2 Bloor -Danforth:
  • Eastbound between Castle Frank and Chester stations.

At reduced speeds, trains are moving at between 15 and 25 kilometres per hour (km/h), instead of normal speeds of 40 to 50 km/h.

In a news release, the TTC says that it “has made significant progress” in removing many of the reduced speed zones in the subway system. It expects to eliminate all the reduced speed zones by March 8.