Search Transit Toronto

TTC subway operators reducing speed through sections of the subway system: May 8 Update

TTC_Reduced Speed Zones_2024-05-08.jpg

TTC transit control continues to ask subway operators to reduce their speed through certain areas of the subway system as a safety precaution due to crews at track level performing ongoing maintenance on the tracks. These reduced speed zones mean that trains travel more slowly than normally in the area.

Here’s where reduced speed zones are in effect on Lines 1 and 2:

  • Line 1 Yonge - University:
  • Southbound between Eglinton and Davisville stations;
  • Southbound between Wilson and Lawrence West stations;
  • Southbound between St. Clair West and Dupont stations;
  • Southbound between King and Union stations;
  • Northbound between Bloor and Rosedale stations;
  • Northbound between Lawrence and York Mills stations;
  • Northbound between St. Clair West and Eglinton West stations;
  • Northbound between Wilson and Sheppard West stations.
  • Line 2 Bloor -Danforth:
  • Both ways between Keele and Dundas West stations; and
  • Eastbound between Coxwell and Main Street stations.

At reduced speeds, trains are moving at between 15 and 25 kilometres per hour (km/h), instead of normal speeds of 40 to 50 km/h.

Support us on Patreon Button

Welcome to Transit Toronto! This is an information site dedicated to public transportation in Toronto, maintained by transit enthusiasts for transit enthuasiasts. This is NOT the official website of the Toronto Transit Commission, Metrolinx or any other transit provider or government agency. To access the official websites of these agencies, consult this page here.